Corner Office #2

Love the “Corner Office” column series.

Here’s a nice bit from today’s, an interview with Wendy Kopp, founder and chief executive of Teach for America:

Q. Any particular time-management techniques?

A. The best time-management thing I do is reflect an hour a week on the overall strategic plan for myself — what do I need to do to move my priorities forward? And then there are the 10 minutes a day that I spend thinking about, “O.K., so based on the priorities for the week, how am I going to prioritize my day tomorrow?” I don’t know how I could do what I do without spending that time.

I am obsessive about that system because the world seems to be moving faster and faster, so you have to figure out how to still drive things proactively instead of just becoming completely reactive.

LOLZ!

I don’t know anything about Wendy Kopp; she seems like an admirably oriented human being w/saint-like work-ethic, someone whose book I should probably tear several chapters out of and smoke: “…this vision, that one day all children in our nation should have the opportunity to attain an excellent education” — a sentiment essentially beyond reproach, I’d say.

Without access to excellent education, how will young people learn to participate in society, to drive things faster and faster, proactively? How will they learn to develop paradigm-shattering marketing techniques and implement superior conduits and methodologies for information- and data-sharing? We’ll need plenty of people who shit spreadsheets and circuit-bend the internet as preventative treatment for impotence; much health care professional teams to nurse our bloated, bluetoothed bodies into septuagenarianism (time to catch up on yr reading!), those GOOD mathematicians and engineers who will trailblaze the maze out of climate change, over-population, and fossil-fuel scarcity while simultaneously providing a new speculative investment bubble to revive the economies of the Northern hemisphere. Let’s make sure that every child has the self-esteem, confidence, and intellectual toolkit necessary to navigate the marvelous and invigorating labyrinth of modernity that leads to the bureaucrat’s cubicle, the conference room table, and the catered reception.

“We made you poor — join us!”

2 Responses to “Corner Office #2”

  1. Bobby Sox Says:

    “If I keep myself this busy and preoccupied with work, then the theme of my life can be busy-ness, and I’ll be so busy living it and telling people about it, I won’t have time to worry about anything else. I’ve recently done a few interviews about my time-management techniques and how busy it is around here.”

    Up next week: How a busy mom makes super-quality time for her four kids and husband while keeping up with a jam-packed schedule at a fast-paced forward-looking company.

    Sneek-peek:”It’s a challenge, each and everyday.” “Sometimes it seems like there just aren’t enough hours to do everything.”

    *hurl*

  2. torsten Says:

    that’s a good one!

Leave a Reply

